The Parish Council exists to look after the interest of the community of Duns Tew. It has powers with relation to issues such as highways, traffic, housing, street lighting, seats, bus shelters, rights of way and is consulted on all local planning.

Parish Councils are part of the local government system and work closely with the district and county council to help ensure services in the village are maintained and developed.

Parish Boundary

Duns Tew Parish council boundary



Parish Council meetings are usually held on the 1st Monday, every other month, at 19:30 in the village hall. All villagers are very welcome to attend. The agenda is posted on the village notice board at least three days before the meeting and will confirm the date of the next meeting.

Planning Committee

Duns Tew has a separate planning committee (Councillors Tom Lindley (chair), David Jackson, Harriet Stapleton and Jonathan Miall) which meets monthly, depending on the requirement to review applications. All applications are reviewed by the current parish councillors and only if they object to the plans will a planning meeting be called.


Tom Lindley CHAIR


David Jackson VICE-CHAIR

Governance & Standing Orders, VAS/Speeding, Resilience Group, MCNP

Charles Landless

Footpaths and Bridleways, Poors Land, Highways, Grass, Street Cleaning & Furniture, Resilience Group, MCNP

Juliet Semple

Emergency Plan, Community Groups, Welcome Pack, Defibrillator, Bottle Bank, Planning

Jamie Hall

Play Area, Village Tidy-pp, IT (Website, Newsletter project and Cloud)

Harriet Stapleton

Planning (Chair), Newsletter, Village Hall committee representative

Parish Clerk

The Parish Clerk is the main contact for any queries within the village so please feel free to contact her with any problems/questions you may have that you feel the Parish Council could help you with.

Jean Ralfe

5 Glebe Court, Duns Tew, OX25 6JY

01869 349012

Data Protection Officer

District Councillor

Mike Kerford-Byrnes CONSERVATIVE

01280 848911

07805 665393

County Councillor


07500 930522

Member of Parliament

Victoria Prentis CONSERVATIVE

0207 219 8756

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What decisions does the Parish Council make?

Parish councils have limited powers to make decisions but they do have the ability to negotiate with, and the power to influence, those other organisations that do make the final decisions (such as the district or county council, health authorities, police etc.). In this respect parish councils are extremely powerful. The organisations that make the final decisions know that a parish council gives the best reflection of how a community feels about something and its views will be taken seriously.

How do I report road or street problems (eg potholes)?

Report it online at FixMyStreet:

What is a conservation area?

Additional planning controls exist within conservation areas which provide protection to boundary walls and larger trees and restrict Permitted Development rights. This is to ensure that any alterations do not detract from the appearance and historic significance of the area. If you live in a conservation area you have to obtain permission before making changes which would normally be permitted elsewhere. Duns Tew conservation area map:


Duns Tew Parish Council

  • Allotments
  • Bus shelters
  • Cemeteries
  • Commons land and common pastures
  • Community centres
  • Flagpoles
  • Monuments and memorials
  • Play area
  • Street lighting
  • Village hall

Cherwell District Council

  • Benefits payments
  • Collecting council tax
  • Homelessness support
  • Electoral registration
  • Environmental health
  • Housing
  • Leisure
  • Local planning
  • Street cleaning
  • Waste collection

Oxfordshire County Council

  • Adult social care
  • Children’s services and education
  • Fire and rescue service
  • Libraries, cultural and registration services
  • Public health
  • Highways and transport
  • Spatial planning
  • Trading standards
  • Waste disposal and recycling centres